Made In China

How often have I heard this word. It’s supposed to be ubiquitous, we keep hearing about the adverse effects that these manufacturing factories are having on the environment, especially now that Earth Day is so close by. And I always thought, but there is nothing I can do about that, so why bother.

China is supposed to be the largest plastic product producer, but so what?! I thought. Do go through this link to see how bad the situation is!

Source

This brings me to my tale. One fine day, like most other days, I was standing there minding my own business. Waging a war against those cunning spiders who always seem to come back to avenge my last web cleaning spree. And then I see the magic words “Made In China” written across my duster and I was surprised that I hadn’t noticed this before. And now that I think about it, I have never actually given a conscious thought to the things that I am getting for my house. And then started the hunt, the hunt for the “Made in China” Label.

Nothing was spared, kitchen was raided, bedroom was invaded and the living room was pervaded(Poetic Freedom allows words that don’t make sense! ) Lo and Behold! It was everywhere! TV Remote, mugs, scissors, bedside table and the list goes on and on… When did all this stuff come in! So, started my hunt for local made eco friendly alternatives to this stuff and here waited another surprise. It’s just not available! Even if it is, it is exorbitantly priced! An eco-friendly lemon squeezer is priced at Rs. 3000, a basket to hold all the living room clutter is priced at 4000 and a jug is priced at 3000, you get the idea.

Then what is a middle classed person to do! How do we find affordable beautiful local eco-friendly alternatives to all that rubbish that is sold in our supermarkets! My search is ongoing, if you know any resources which would help this cause, please do let me know!

One thought on “Made In China

  1. This is something I have never consciously looked for, either. I will keep my eyes and ears open, henceforth. Thanks for this post!

    It is indeed a serious problem.. will let you know if I come across any alternatives.

Leave your Foot-Print! Oops! Cyber-Print! :)

