Highway -A Must Watch

There’s been a lot of hoopla about the Oscars today and today is the day I watched a movie which probably won’t be much talked about in our award functions like IIFA ( An Indian Version of Oscars, per se) But this is a movie that will forever be etched in my heart. The movie, ladies and gentlemen, is titled ‘Highway’.

If you know Indian music, you would be familiar with A R Rehman, and he is the reason that I went to watch the movie today. I really liked his composition of the songs if this movie and wanted to listen to them in those huge audio systems of the theater. Hence we landed up at the movies, fresh from office. And I’m glad that I did it.

The movie is about a girl who is kidnapped and she discovers herself during this journey. Sounds improbable, impossible, unrealistic and supremely filmy. And it is filmy, but the heart of this movie is right where it should be. There were scenes I went ‘Pfft… Like this would happen in the world out there’ and there were those moments where I went ‘I know this situation, I see it around me all the time!!’

The cinematography is out of the world, the moments that make you realize that there is huge world out there and it is just a wish away. And coming to the emotional part of the movie, I’m a directors dream. If the director wanted his\her audience to cry their hearts out, I would make their wish come true. But what was different with this movie was that I was still crying 30 minutes after the credits. It left that big an impact on me. The movie explores the freedom that comes with being yourself, the self-knowledge that only traveling can give you and the realization of courage which is discovered in unexpected circumstances. All in all, a movie that I would watch again and again and again and again.

If you are in the mood for a supremely sensible, wildly beautiful movie with a soul. Get out there and watch it before it leaves the theaters forever!

Leave your Foot-Print! Oops! Cyber-Print! :)

