The Tales of Apartments

For the first time in my life, I live in the strange urban contraptions called ‘apartments’. I have always lived in houses with small rooms and huge gardens. So I was very skeptical about my fitting into an apartment with no green lung space. And the closest we could come to having some greenery around us was to stay near a lake. So we took that chance. And surprisingly, I am liking this apartment experience. There are many things I marvel at. Some things that only apartments can provide, I think a lot of us see only the sad side of an apartment while conveniently forgetting the perks it offers. So these are some of the interesting things that I have come across.

  • Thousands of people live in an apartment complex. But have you noticed that at any given point of time, the complex is always shrouded in an eerie shawl of calmness!
  • Take an apartment tour. When I did a tour of my complex, I came across so many different kinds of living.
  • The unkempt balcony of a bachelor pad
  • The overflowing terrace garden of a plantsman (Apparently, it’s a word!)
  • The heavenly smell of sambrani (A mum must definitely live there!!)
  • A clothesline full of toddler clothes which never fail to make me smile, such small clothes πŸ˜€
  • The whirring of a washing machine which heralds the onset of a weekend
  • The constant barking of dog, a golden retriever, in my case. It barks just when I am about to lose myself in the folds of my blanket. We must have been enemies in our past life
  • The fairy lights that glow and glint and make you think of all things magical
  • The ‘Howzzaaat’ of the perennial cricket match played by kids
  • I confess that I become something of a peeping tom during these tours and these bouts always provide a magical insight into my neighbors lives πŸ˜€
  • I love taking a walk through the corridors of all the floors, each house is decorated in something that makes them house a home. And I love observing these touches. The yellow wall that welcomes visitors, a funny door mat, a door that rivals the sercurity of a bank with its grills and padlocks and all πŸ˜€

These are my tales, what are yours?! Do tell, I am all ears! πŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “The Tales of Apartments

Leave your Foot-Print! Oops! Cyber-Print! :)

