A Soulful Himalayan Sojourn | The Travel Bug

Preschool…. School…. College…. Office….

This is the rite of passage  that every human goes through(more or less) Because I live in India, I can speak in the Indian Context, between all these pit stops, we go through numerous other avenues like the daily tuition’s, the innumerable family solemnization’s and the yearly family vacations where we cram in all the possible places and sights to turn our holidays into yet another taxing hullabaloo. Because, we have far too less time to see all that there is!

But for once, I wanted to actually travel, to revel in the glory of a place, to take the time out to talk to the locals, to see that amazing sunset. For once, I wanted my trip to be more about people and less about places!

For the past few years since I’ve started working, much of my time goes into introspection and am dealing with the resulting dilemmas. Because I do not want to look back and think that I have lived my life passively, by just going with the flow. I read a quote by Dalai Lama which rang a bell, with alarming intensity!

“Man surprised me most about humanity.Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money.
Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health.And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.”
― Dalai Lama XIV

Then, I came across this lady who lives, and how! (See, a reason for why I love blogging!) How else would I meet such sweet people like you guys! She has a blog called The Shooting Star, in which she talks about her travel tales. I found her story to be so very captivating and after I read some of her posts! I was bitten by the bug! TRAVEL!!

So when I heard about this trip that was being organized by her! I jumped with joy, for I knew that any offering of hers would not be the run-of-the-mill tours that are organized by the travel companies which provide a tourist experience, not a travel experience! Believe me when I say that I was walking around like a crazed person with the thoughts of nothing but the expectation of watching a beautiful sunset with nothing to listen to, but the sound of the wind howling and with nothing but your thoughts to give you company, just your thoughts and no one else’s.

But before I got ahead of myself, I needed to look after the practical matters. The most important and almost insurmountable task of getting my parents to agree to let me go on a trip alone! To a place far away where even cell phones do not work!

And when such requests are made, I found out that you’re made to listen to the news everyday so that you realize how dangerous the world is, you are made to listen to the family history dating from god knows when so that you understand how respectable your family is and you are held accountable for all the crazy things that your friends so that it serves you as a warning to not try stuff-out-of-the-ordinary. But all this just managed to confirm my belief that just sometimes, you need to rebel, stand up for what you believe in.

And I’m happy to tell you that I finally managed to convince my amma to let me go! One of the best days of my life! 😀 And after that everything seemed like a piece of cake!

I was scared out of my wits with the fear of the unknown, the dangers involved with solo travel. The day before I was to embark on this monumental trip, I had vivid dreams which led to a rather sleepless night filled with utter dread. To the point that, I had almost decided to back out! But good sense prevailed and I remembered the skies of blue, red roses too.. What a wonderful world!!

Remember the song! 🙂

And this is how my adventure started! Even before I started it, to believe that world is not all it’s said to be. Full of creeps, thugs etc etc but to also remember that it is the land where women are respected, where there are so many cultures, a place where you have food that is just waiting to be tasted!

And this is just the beginning! Picture abhi baki hai mere dost! Do stay tuned in! 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Soulful Himalayan Sojourn | The Travel Bug

  1. I so get what you mean. I led such a passive life till the age of 25 that I was stunned when I came to the realisation of it one fine day. And I vowed not to let life ever be the same after that. I am glad I did that. 🙂 Yay to you realising your dream.

    That’s the right way to travel – building experiences and rejuvenating yourself, introspecting, rather than just hopping from one place to another. I strongly believe in that.

    Wow @ Himalayan sojourn. Am so curious now! Would love to read your detailed travelogue.

    That is a wonderful song indeed! 🙂

    And, yes, super cool that you could convince your parents for a solo trip. I don’t know if mine would still agree – at this age. 🙂 I would love to have the experience at least once. 🙂

    • Traveling does indeed change you! It certainly changed me!

      I have loads of stories to tell, so it is going to be quite spread out and detailed! 🙂

      You should definitely go on a solo trip! It is worth all the trouble! And much more! 🙂

  2. All this I know. Well written blah blah intriguing blah blah. Now get down to business lady. You promised a full fledged travel log minute by minute 😛 🙂

Leave your Foot-Print! Oops! Cyber-Print! :)

