My Sister’s Keeper – By Jodi Picoult

“As much as you want to hold on to the bitter sore memory that someone has left this world, you are still in it. And the very act of living is a tide: at first it seems to make no difference at all, and then one day you look down and see how much pain has eroded.”

I came across this book in the office library. I had already watched the movie but decided to pick it up anyway. This book deals with a very complex issue. I can talk about terms like medical emancipation, but at the heart of it, it talks about the thread that binds a family together, about the choices that an individual is entitled to by birth and the effect of one on the other and vice versa. About how love influences our choices.

There are some things that are beyond our understand. Because we don’t know how it feels, what it is like till we’ve been there and experienced what they go through. This book talks about one of those things.

I had a tough time wading through the book because it just didn’t seem to capture my interest, the characters didn’t speak to me. If you are a regular book reader, you’ll know what I am talking about. But I just kept plodding on. This was because I didn’t resonate with the situations that they were facing, because they talk about a very specific dilemma. But in the end, it did manage to wring tears out of me. The end took me completely by surprise and left me with a sense of wonder at the way life works out. I parted with the book with a sense of loss and a sigh.

There are some things that I just cannot understand and that are beyond my limited ability to review.
Hence, I leave this book without a rating, because it cannot be treated as a book read, reviewed and left behind.

P.S. The book is way way better than the movie, like always.

2 thoughts on “My Sister’s Keeper – By Jodi Picoult

    • Ditto!! The book talks about difficult decisions and does not leave you with a happy feeling.

      But it made for a very different read!

      P.S. Do not read it in one of your melancholy moods! Try it when you are going through a introspective phase! 🙂

      Thank you for visiting for my space!

Leave your Foot-Print! Oops! Cyber-Print! :)

