A Bookish Affair!

Books have always been there for me! Since time immemorial, you could say, as the ‘immemorial’, for me, begins with my first memory! 😛 They were the ones that got me through the boring afternoons, the grief of losing a loved one, the pain of separation from a friend, well you get the picture. It’s so easy to lose oneself in the plot, to delight in a character when you find traits that you find in yourself(The feeling is very similar to the one we experience when we hear our favorite song being played on the radio!!) 🙂 🙂

As it often happens, we lose touch with a loved one. Not because we want to, but just because we get too entangled in the complex web of daily life! Inexcusable, I know! And so it happened that I had more or less stopped reading books, but then I came across this very interesting site which awoke in me a feeling of uneasiness. The uneasiness which you feel when you stray away from your beloved. It was a site which talks n talks n talks about books! Nothing but books! I have found my haven there, and then resolved to buckle up and start reading. On this point, I’m happy to announce that I’ve been able to fulfill a new year resolution viz.a.viz reading!! (Thank god for that, I would have crossed out all the resolutions in my huuge list, this saved me 🙂 ) In this site, I found a widget which is called “Reading Challenge” in which you set a goal as to the number of books you would read in an year. I started wondering if we should set goals for something that you do for leisure, but I figured that in the day to day activities we forget to make time for what to love. This has helped me a lot, keeps me motivated. What do you say? Do tell!

The site that I am referring to is http://www.goodreads.com/ Hope it helps you as much as it did me! 🙂

So it came as a surprise to me when I realized that I’ve never ever explored an interesting aspect of books – Reviewing them! And finally I got around to it! 🙂 So here’s my experiment and surprisingly it turned out be one of the best books that I ever came across!

http://www.knowledgehub.co.in/2012/04/surprise-surprise-surprise-jane-eyre-still-has-it-in-her.html

Will be waiting to hear back from you! 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Bookish Affair!

  1. Well.. It’s so true that we forget what we love in the midst of the daily routine that we follow! The happiness we get when we get back to it after sometime is so heart warming and gives us the drive to get going!
    Hope you get back to reading and do more reviews in this space in the coming days..

    • Thank you Smitha!! I’m definitely looking to forward read more too! 🙂

      Just saw your list! You’ve certainly been busy! You’ve motivated me to do better and read more! 🙂

Leave your Foot-Print! Oops! Cyber-Print! :)

